<< >> 0 comments so far old sign profile rings diaryland design
contact me older entries

An old dirt path sews its way through the lush forest, leading to the top of a hill. Adrenaline runs through my body like never before. The weight of my firearm begs me to stop and rest, but common sense tells me otherwise. I press on, trying to reach the peak as quietly as possible as the dried leaves and broken branches call out my position with every step. The temperature has to be somewhere around 93 degrees farenheit, with my gear it must be well over 100. Sweat stings my eyes with every step and I refuse to close them even for one second. As I get closer to the top of the ridge my crouch turns quickly to prone. I manuever myself close to a tree that is shaped like a V. The foilage covers the area about a foot and a half higher than the ground itself, providing excellent cover. I lie still, peering out over the ridge and down the dirt path that continues into the distance. I lie in waiting that the enemy will soon arrive. Then I hear something rustling through the trees, the gnats and flies litter my brow as if they were trying to make me swat them and give away my position. The sounds keep getting closer and I think to myself, what if they are behind me? am I a sitting duck or have I chosen a good position. Then I see him, carrying his firearm, locked and loaded with every intention of unloading on me. I lie still, looking down the barrel of my weapon, waiting for the right oppertunity to kill or be killed. The adrenaline is really flowing now, my heart must be beating a thousand times a second. As he grows closer, I swear he sees me lying here. I gently squeeze the trigger and let two shots go. The first shot is on target, I hear a yell and see the enemy fall to his death. A sigh of relief exits my body and I start to breath normal again, then I hear footsteps, closer than the other. An enemy is standing six feet to my left. I lie very still, expecting to be discovered. Should I move and try to eliminate the enemy? I wait for what seems like hours and then out of the thick, quiet air I hear a shot from real close, it hits the tree inches from my head. I have been discovered. I roll about two feet from where the shot came, hop up into a crouch position and fire toward the enemy. He is running away from my location with his back toward me trying to find cover, I fire in that direction and see two of my shots hit him in the ass. I have eliminated the enemy, I am victorious. Afterward, both enemies and I laugh at the fun we had, not because war is fun, but because paintball is the best game we have ever played. If you have never tried it, YOU MUST! You will not be disappointed.